You can choose how to delete files. Here’s how.

While it’s important to keep your digital spaces as clutter-free as possible, no one likes to accidentally delete files they actually need. Fortunately, operating systems and cloud storage services come with integrated undelete options.

These features give you a grace period during which you can get your files back. If you’ve ever felt that vital company report to be done on Wednesday or inadvertently felt every single image of grandma you’ve ever taken, don’t panic.

Undelete options can get you out of a real hole, so it’s a good idea to take the time to make sure they are properly configured. This includes how long a platform holds files before deleting them permanently, and how much space they can take up.

How to set up your Recycle Bin on Windows

You should always be able to see the Recycle Bin on your Windows desktop — if you don’t, right-click on an empty part of the desktop and select Now u Show desktop icons. If it is not already there, open Windows Settings then select Personalization, Themes, u Desktop icon settings. When the Recycle Bin icon is visible on the desktop, right-click on it and select Properties to configure how it works.

[Related: Ditch your built-in file explorer for one of these 6 apps]

In this menu, you can set how much space the Recycle Bin contains on your disk — automatically, as soon as that space is full, the oldest files there will be deleted. If you want to get rid of something right away, you can also wipe the files manually by right-clicking on the Recycle Bin and selecting Empty Recycle Bin. From this menu, you can also choose to skip this folder altogether, and you will have Windows permanently delete the files as soon as you delete them.

If you don’t want to depend on space, you can set a time limit as well. To do this, open Settings and select System then Storage Sense: Turn on Automatic cleaning of User content and set your time limit for the Recycle Bin (day to 60 days) via the drop-down list below.

How to set up the Trash folder on macOS

macOS uses a Trash folder rather than a Recycle Bin, but the idea is the same: Deleted files go there and you can recover them if you need them.

Files automatically remain in the trash indefinitely — there is no time or space limit. To permanently delete them you need to empty the trash manually by right-clicking on its icon in the macOS dock and selecting Trash empty.

If this is something you don’t want to do on a regular basis, and you’d rather have the disk space back, open the Finder and grab Preferences from Finder menu. Under the Advanced heading, check the box Remove items from trash after 30 days.

If you are confident that you will never accidentally delete something important, or have a very robust backup solution in place, you can even skip the trash altogether. With the files selected, use the Option + Cmd + Delete keyboard shortcut or hold the Choice key and pick File, Delete Immediately from the Finder menu.

How to tweak settings deletion on Dropbox

Those of you who got your files synced to and from Dropbox in the cloud can recover deleted files for up to 30 days. If you are paying for Professional, Standard or Advanced plans with more storage, the files wait 180 days before being deleted, and do not count towards your storage quota.

Unfortunately, there are no settings to configure here, and if you want deleted files to stay longer, all you need to do is update your Dropbox plan. Note that the Plus and Family packages, starting at $ 10 a month, have the same 30-day window for deleted files as the free plans do.

To get your files back after they have been deleted, go to Dropbox on the web, and click on Deleted files On the left. Select one or more files and you have the option to Restore or Delete permanently on the right. Note that this works independently of the Recycle Bin on Windows and the Trash on macOS.

How to tweak settings deletion on OneDrive

OneDrive is a built-in Windows cloud synchronization and storage service, and has its own undelete feature that runs separately from the operating system’s Recycle Bin. Confusingly, it’s also called a Recycle Bin, and the files stay there for 30 days until they are permanently wiped.

Any files you delete from folders synced to OneDrive will go to the Recycle Bin in the cloud, where they will take a second life even if you have permanently removed them from your local Recycle Bin in Windows. To retrieve them, go to OneDrive on the web, and click Recycle bin On the left. You can select files to delete or restore permanently, but you also have bulk action options at the top of the window.

OneDrive does not allow you to change the 30-day window or configure how much space the Recycle Bin can use. You should also note that, unlike Dropbox, files waiting for permanent deletion count toward your allocated storage. To see how much space you are using, go to OneDrive on the web, click the kog icon (on the right) and then Manage storage. There you also see the option to Empty the recycling bin.

How to Tweak Deletion Settings on iCloud

Like the OneDrive and Windows Recycle Bin, the iCloud file system has its own feature for retrieving deleted files and working independently of the Trash folder on your Mac. Deleted files are automatically and permanently deleted after 30 days, but the good news is that while hanging, they don’t count for your iCloud storage.

You can’t change the time period before the final deletion happens, nor can you change the amount of iCloud cloud storage backups for deleted files. How much you spend on iCloud storage doesn’t make a difference — the settings are the same whether you’re using the 5GB of free space or upgraded.

To restore deleted files, go to iCloud on the web, click on Account preferences, then Restore Files under the heading Advanced at the bottom. Alternatively, depending on the app and the platform that did the deletion, you may have to go iCloud Drive from the main iCloud portal, then click Recently deleted (bottom right).

How to tweak settings deletion on Google Drive

If Google Drive is the cloud storage service of your choice, you have 30 days after the files are deleted to decide if you want to restore them. To view permanently deleted deleted files, go to Google Drive on the web, and click the Trash link on the left.

[Related: You should download the new Google Drive for Desktop]

Note that the deleted files you find there apply to your storage allowance, so you may want to empty this folder frequently. To either delete the files permanently or restore them to their original folder, right-click on the files (Ctrl + click to select multiple files at once) and select what you want to do. You will also see an Trash empty up button in the top right corner, which you can use to quickly exit the digital trash.

Google Drive does not provide any settings for editing trash-spending time files, limiting its size, or skipping the trash folder altogether. These are also settings for all users, whether you’re riding on the free 15GB of Google Drive, or whether you’ve upgraded to a paid plan.

Leave a Comment